North of Scotland Cricket Association

MCA Girls’ Cricket Competition

Posted on

Moray Cricket Association started their winter programme of indoor junior cricket competitions on Sunday, with the opening round of the girls only Iain McDonald League. Staged at Lossiemouth Community Centre, a total of 50 girls competed in round robin matches. Eight teams were split into two groups of four, with the morning being contested by Huntly A, Huntly B, Elgin A and Buckie. Huntly A were victorious in all three of their matches, with Buckie winning two, Elgin A one and Huntly B, who although they lost all their matches pushed the opposition hard.

Scores as follows (teams start on 200 runs) -

  • Huntly A 241-0 beat Buckie 230-1 
  • Elgin A 238-2 beat Huntly B 211-3 
  • Buckie 226-3 beat Elgin A 207-5 
  • Huntly A 245-2 beat Huntly B 202-4 
  • Huntly A 252-1 beat Elgin A 237-2 
  • Buckie 248-1 beat Huntly B 231-1

In the afternoon Elgin B, Bishopmill Primary School, Forres and Fochabers competed, with Bishopmill Primary School winning all three of their matches and the other teams all picking up one win each.

Scores as follows (teams start on 200 runs) -

  • Bishopmill 235-3 beat Elgin B 231-2
  • Forres 250-0 beat Fochabers 226-2
  • Bishopmill 244-2 beat Fochabers 236-4
  • Elgin B 263-0 beat Forres 233-2
  • Fochabers 232-3 beat Elgin B 228-4
  • Bishopmill 269-2 beat Forres 217-4

For many of the girls, certainly in the afternoon, this was their first taste of indoor competition and they acquitted themselves very well.

Thanks to the support of parents during the matches and to the local cricket club volunteers on the day for scoring and umpiring.

The next round of the Iain McDonald League will be at the same venue on Sunday 18th December. In the meantime the next Moray Cricket Association indoor competition will be an U15 (mixed) hardball, at Buckie Community Centre on Sunday 20th November.


Black Dog Financial Service Blake Geoservices Heather Glen Guest House Baxters CSA Maintenance Consultants
North of Scotland Cricket Association, Secretary: Carolyn Farr, Wytchwood, 15 Sanquhar Terrace, Forres IV36 1DH
T: 01309 271128 E:
©2018 North of Scotland Cricket Association | Site by Plexus